Rule of the Week - Not Trying to Make a Ball

March 13, 2025 3:30 AM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Not Trying to Make a Ball

March 13, 2025 3:30 AM

by San Diego APA


Situation: My opponent took a shot that didn't appear as thou they were attempting to make a ball. We asked the shooter and they said it wasn't a defensive shot, what do we do?

Mark the defensive shot, A Defensive Shot is any shot taken without the intent to legally pocket a ball. This definition includes, but is not limited to, shots taken in an attempt to hook the shooter’s opponent. The shooter’s INTENT is the determining factor. Unless the shooter declares that their shot was a Defensive Shot, it is up to the scorekeeper to decide if the shooter intended to try and pocket a ball. Consistently and correctly marking Defensive Shots ensures the effectiveness of The Equalizer®.

Defensive shot as stated above is when the shooter isn't trying to make the ball not just when they are trying to hook you. Meaning if you believe the shooter regardless if they left you a good shot or not didn't try to truly pocket their ball this should be marked as a defensive shot.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 31-32 “Defensive Shots”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

This section also covers:
  • Ethical and unethical defensive shots
  • Attempting a defensive shot and making your ball
  • Two-way shots

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


20th Annual 9-Ball Southwest Challenge
8/18/25 - 12:34 am
ATTENTION REGISTERED TEAMS: Please review the Confirmed Entries below. Confirm Shooting Order Verify the # Rooms listed and the Balance Due. If your team has a balance, your team contact was sent an email on 10/13/2025. PAYMENTS WERE DUE FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 26TH and are due immediately. Room Confirmation #s will be emailed to each team contact during the week of 10/13/2025. Please review check-in
Coaching - Rule of the Week
10/27/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My player is about to hit a solid ball and they are stripes, can I tell them what they are as we have no timeouts left? Yes, Telling a player if they have solids or stripes is NOT considering coaching/time-out. Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 28-30 section 18 “Coaching”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf Other things that are ok and NOT considered coaching
After The Break - Rule of the Week
10/20/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent breaks dry, I then while shooting a solid miss but it knocks in a stripe, is the table still open? No, from the Official Team Manual - NOTE: During an open table, a player can shoot a combination involving stripes and solids; the legally pocketed ball will determine their category of balls for the remainder of the game. The 8-ball may not be used as the first ball in a combi