Situation: While shooting my opponent doesn't make a ball but one of their balls sits on the edge of the pocket. They walk away from the table and it falls into the pocket. Is it still their turn?
No, Once a ball has stopped all motion, it cannot move again without outside forces affecting it. Therefore, if a ball which has been hanging in a pocket for more than a few seconds suddenly drops, it is to be placed back on the table where it was originally sitting.
Rule: OTM page 48-49 section 7 "Pocketed Balls": https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
Note: The debate over "outside forces" is usually the discussion around this rule in some cases. The APA HQ and SDAPA is if the ball (5-ball in this example) wasn't hit by another ball then it is considered outside forces that caused it to drop.
This section also covers:
- Balls that don't stay in the pocket
- Two frozen balls jammed in the pocket
You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:
- Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
- Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
- Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.