Rule of the Week - Switching Coaches During a Timeout

January 27, 2025 9:43 PM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Switching Coaches During a Timeout

January 27, 2025 9:43 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: My opponents team calls a timeout and one of the players on the team starts to give the timeout. After the coach has already talked to the player at the table they switch coaches to someone else on the team. Is this allowed?

No, during their turn at the table, the shooter may discuss strategy only with the coach designated for that time-out. A coach may get a group consensus from other players on their team and pass it on to the shooter, but only the designated coach may pass it on.

A team can change coaches from timeout to timeout but not during a timeout. In addition this is the only non-shooting Ball In Hand foul (see page 54 section f of the OTM).

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 28-30 “Coaching”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

This section also covers:
  • Ineligible players
  • What is considered a timeout and what is not
  • Number of timeouts based on SL and divison format

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


20th Annual 9-Ball Southwest Challenge
8/18/25 - 12:34 am
ATTENTION REGISTERED TEAMS: Please review the Confirmed Entries below. Confirm Shooting Order Verify the # Rooms listed and the Balance Due. If your team has a balance, your team contact was sent an email on 10/13/2025. PAYMENTS WERE DUE FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 26TH and are due immediately. Room Confirmation #s will be emailed to each team contact during the week of 10/13/2025. Please review check-in
Having A Shot Watched - Rule of the Week
10/13/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: After shooting a close shot the other team stops me and says they had a 3rd party watch it and called it bad. I was not aware somebody was watching and I think it was good, is it ball in hand for my opponent? No, the other team should have stopped you first and then you both need to agree on the 3rd party watching the shot. Failure to do so will result in the call going to the shooter
Moving Ball In Hand - Rule of the Week
10/6/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent has ball in hand, while placing the cue ball for their shot they move the cue ball with the tip of their cue, isn't this a foul? No, even after having addressed the cue ball a player may, if not satisfied with the placement, make further adjustments with their hand, cue stick or any other reasonable piece of equipment. There is no documented rule against using the tip of the