Chaning Who You Post - Rule of the Week

July 11, 2025 8:02 PM

by San Diego APA

Chaning Who You Post - Rule of the Week

July 11, 2025 8:02 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: We posted a player and then our opponent posted. They then decided to change that post, can they do this?

No, Once both teams have declared a player, the players cannot be changed unless the team's choice of player will violate the Team Skill Level Limit rule or the Limited Senior Skill Level rule.

While teams are not required to notify their opponent that they are about to break the Team Skill Level Limit rule or the Limited Senior Skill Level rule, it is considered good sportsmanship to notify the opponent, and to give them an opportunity to declare a different player.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 24 “Who Plays First & Order of Play”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


2025 9-Ball Scotch Doubles Chip Tournament
7/8/25 - 4:05 am
9-Ball Scotch DoublesCHIP TOURNAMENTSaturday, August 2nd 11:00 amat The StageCoach Inn 1865 W Vista Way, VistaDoors open @ 9:00 amCheck-In @ 10:30 am $30 Entry Fee per Team100% Payback Combined 9-Ball Skill Cap of 11 Maximum Field of 32 Teams Pre-registration (entry and payment) required by Friday, July 25, 2025 Link to Flyer Link to Tournament FAQs CLICK HERE for ENTRY FORMwith PAYMENT OPTIONS
Lagging - Rule of the Week
7/7/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: Both players don't lag at the approx same time, is this a re-lag? No, only the following conditions will result in a re-lag: If the lagged balls make contact with each other, both players fail to strike the foot rail during the lag, or a ball stops in the jaw of a pocket, re-lag. Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 44 section 1 “Lagging”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual
Pocketed Balls (outside forces) - Rule of the Week
6/30/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: While shooting my opponent doesn't make a ball but one of their balls sits on the edge of the pocket. They walk away from the table and it falls into the pocket. Is it still their turn? No, Once a ball has stopped all motion, it cannot move again without outside forces affecting it. Therefore, if a ball which has been hanging in a pocket for more than a few seconds suddenly drops, it