Rule of the Week - Enforcing Rules

November 24, 2024 11:05 PM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Enforcing Rules

November 24, 2024 11:05 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: We played last night and the other team requested a double post. We played the match and then someone told us this isn't allowed in the last 2 weeks of the schedule. Do we get the forfeit? 

No, Teams are responsible for enforcing the OTM & Bylaw rules at the time the issue arises.

Captains and players on all teams should be aware of the rules or at least where to find them. The app contains both the bylaws and the OTM, which can be searched electronically. Always refer to the bylaws first, as they take precedence over the OTM during regular sessions and playoffs.

OTM = Official Team Manual

Rule: Bylaws “Teams”: https://apa-by-laws.s3.amazonaws.com/prod/921_bylaws_2024.pdf 

OTM Search Tool:

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


20th Annual 9-Ball Southwest Challenge
8/18/25 - 12:34 am
ATTENTION REGISTERED TEAMS: Please review the Confirmed Entries below. Confirm Shooting Order Verify the # Rooms listed and the Balance Due. If your team has a balance, your team contact was sent an email on 10/13/2025. PAYMENTS WERE DUE FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 26TH and are due immediately. Room Confirmation #s will be emailed to each team contact during the week of 10/13/2025. Please review check-in
Coaching - Rule of the Week
10/27/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My player is about to hit a solid ball and they are stripes, can I tell them what they are as we have no timeouts left? Yes, Telling a player if they have solids or stripes is NOT considering coaching/time-out. Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 28-30 section 18 “Coaching”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf Other things that are ok and NOT considered coaching
After The Break - Rule of the Week
10/20/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent breaks dry, I then while shooting a solid miss but it knocks in a stripe, is the table still open? No, from the Official Team Manual - NOTE: During an open table, a player can shoot a combination involving stripes and solids; the legally pocketed ball will determine their category of balls for the remainder of the game. The 8-ball may not be used as the first ball in a combi