Rule of the Week - Coaching (helping aim)

October 16, 2024 4:58 PM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Coaching (helping aim)

October 16, 2024 4:58 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: During a timeout the coach places a piece of chalk on the rail to give the shooter a place to aim, is this allowed?

Yes, it is permissible for a coach to place an item on the rail to indicate where to aim.

In addition a coach can aid the shooter by pointing where on a ball to hit or even help guide their cue stick during the coaching. However no coaching can continue to occur such as pointing or guiding during the execution of the shot itself. The coach should leave the playing area before the shooter attempts their shot.
Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 28-30 section 18 “Coaching”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

This section also covers:

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


20th Annual 9-Ball Southwest Challenge
8/18/25 - 12:34 am
ATTENTION REGISTERED TEAMS: Please review the Confirmed Entries below. Confirm Shooting Order Verify the # Rooms listed and the Balance Due. If your team has a balance, your team contact was sent an email on 10/13/2025. PAYMENTS WERE DUE FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 26TH and are due immediately. Room Confirmation #s will be emailed to each team contact during the week of 10/13/2025. Please review check-in
Having A Shot Watched - Rule of the Week
10/13/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: After shooting a close shot the other team stops me and says they had a 3rd party watch it and called it bad. I was not aware somebody was watching and I think it was good, is it ball in hand for my opponent? No, the other team should have stopped you first and then you both need to agree on the 3rd party watching the shot. Failure to do so will result in the call going to the shooter
Moving Ball In Hand - Rule of the Week
10/6/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent has ball in hand, while placing the cue ball for their shot they move the cue ball with the tip of their cue, isn't this a foul? No, even after having addressed the cue ball a player may, if not satisfied with the placement, make further adjustments with their hand, cue stick or any other reasonable piece of equipment. There is no documented rule against using the tip of the