Rule of the Week - Coaching

December 22, 2023 1:02 AM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Coaching

December 22, 2023 1:02 AM

by San Diego APA


Situation: My player is about to hit a solid ball and they are stripes, can I tell them what they are as we have no timeouts left?

Yes, Telling a player if they have solids or stripes is NOT considering coaching/time-out.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 28-30 section 18 “Coaching”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
Other things that are ok and NOT considered coaching include:
  • Telling a player to mark the pocket when shooting the 8-ball.
  • Reminding a player which is the next ball in the rotation (9-Ball).
  • Giving advice or placing the cue ball before the break.
  • Reminding a player to chalk up.
  • Telling a player a foul has occurred.
  • Answering a player’s question concerning rules.
  • Comments such as “good hit” or “nice shot”.
  • Conversations with or comments to a player when it is not their turn at the table.
Things that are considered coaching and therefore a time-out:
  • Which ball to shoot, except in 9-Ball.
  • Where to leave the cue ball.
  • Whether to shoot soft or hard.
  • Whether to use english.
  • Whether to play safe or defensive.

This section also covers:

  • Who can coach
  • Who can call a time-out
  • What is allowed during the time-out
  • What the coach is allowed to do for the player during the time-out
  • Among other things regarding coaching

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


20th Annual 9-Ball Southwest Challenge
8/18/25 - 12:34 am
ATTENTION REGISTERED TEAMS: Please review the Confirmed Entries below. Confirm Shooting Order Verify the # Rooms listed and the Balance Due. If your team has a balance, your team contact was sent an email on 10/13/2025. PAYMENTS WERE DUE FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 26TH and are due immediately. Room Confirmation #s will be emailed to each team contact during the week of 10/13/2025. Please review check-in
Having A Shot Watched - Rule of the Week
10/13/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: After shooting a close shot the other team stops me and says they had a 3rd party watch it and called it bad. I was not aware somebody was watching and I think it was good, is it ball in hand for my opponent? No, the other team should have stopped you first and then you both need to agree on the 3rd party watching the shot. Failure to do so will result in the call going to the shooter
Moving Ball In Hand - Rule of the Week
10/6/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent has ball in hand, while placing the cue ball for their shot they move the cue ball with the tip of their cue, isn't this a foul? No, even after having addressed the cue ball a player may, if not satisfied with the placement, make further adjustments with their hand, cue stick or any other reasonable piece of equipment. There is no documented rule against using the tip of the