Rule of the Week - Moving Ball In Hand

April 12, 2024 1:07 AM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Moving Ball In Hand

April 12, 2024 1:07 AM

by San Diego APA


Situation: My opponent has ball in hand, while placing the cue ball for their shot they move the cue ball with the tip of their cue, isn't this a foul?

No, even after having addressed the cue ball a player may, if not satisfied with the placement, make further adjustments with their hand, cue stick or any other reasonable piece of equipment.

There is no documented rule against using the tip of their cue during ball in hand to position the cue ball.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 53 “Fouls”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

This section also covers:

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


2025 9-Ball Scotch Doubles Chip Tournament
7/8/25 - 4:05 am
9-Ball Scotch DoublesCHIP TOURNAMENTSaturday, August 2nd 11:00 amat The StageCoach Inn 1865 W Vista Way, VistaDoors open @ 9:00 amCheck-In @ 10:30 am $30 Entry Fee per Team100% Payback Combined 9-Ball Skill Cap of 11 Maximum Field of 32 Teams Pre-registration (entry and payment) required by Friday, July 25, 2025 Link to Flyer Link to Tournament FAQs CLICK HERE for ENTRY FORMwith PAYMENT OPTIONS
Lagging - Rule of the Week
7/7/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: Both players don't lag at the approx same time, is this a re-lag? No, only the following conditions will result in a re-lag: If the lagged balls make contact with each other, both players fail to strike the foot rail during the lag, or a ball stops in the jaw of a pocket, re-lag. Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 44 section 1 “Lagging”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual
Pocketed Balls (outside forces) - Rule of the Week
6/30/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: While shooting my opponent doesn't make a ball but one of their balls sits on the edge of the pocket. They walk away from the table and it falls into the pocket. Is it still their turn? No, Once a ball has stopped all motion, it cannot move again without outside forces affecting it. Therefore, if a ball which has been hanging in a pocket for more than a few seconds suddenly drops, it