Rule of the Week - Fouls/Ball-In-Hand

January 22, 2024 7:50 PM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Fouls/Ball-In-Hand

January 22, 2024 7:50 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: During a Ball-In-Hand (BIH) I picked up the cue ball and dropped it into the pocket, is it now BIH for my opponent?

No, only BIH scenarios described in the Official Team Manual (OTM) result in BIH fouls. The belief the cue ball is live is not a true statement. Yes if you touch another ball that is already on the table while holding the cue ball this would be BIH. However, dropping it on the floor or in the pocket or even the playing surface isn’t a foul unless it meets one of the documented cases in the OTM section 15 Fouls.

To add that a cue ball isn’t live is this OTM statement:

Even after having addressed the cue ball a player may, if not satisfied with the placement, make further adjustments with their hand, cue stick or any other reasonable piece of equipment.

In 9-ball when your opponent makes the 9-ball and scratches at the same time, if you pick up both the 9-ball and cue ball to place back on the table at the same time this is not a foul. Not until the 9-ball has been placed and released is it subject to rule 15k in this scenario.

NOTE: A foul that is not called when it occurs cannot be called once the next shot has been taken.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 53-55 section 15 “Fouls”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
This section also covers:
  • All other BIH scenarios
  • Scratching on the break
  • Doubles, 8-ball and 9-ball specific cases

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


Pocketed Balls (outside forces) - Rule of the Week
6/30/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: While shooting my opponent doesn't make a ball but one of their balls sits on the edge of the pocket. They walk away from the table and it falls into the pocket. Is it still their turn? No, Once a ball has stopped all motion, it cannot move again without outside forces affecting it. Therefore, if a ball which has been hanging in a pocket for more than a few seconds suddenly drops, it
Rescheduling a Match - Rule of the Week
6/23/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: I have requested a makeup match ahead of the necessary 24-hour notice to my opponent. They are telling me I have to let them know who will be playing the makeup match(es). Is this true? Yes, when requesting 1-2 makeup matches the team needing the makeup must indicate who will be playing those matches. The same requirement is true for Pre-Play matches. Rule: Bylaws page 4-5 “Rescheduli
Singles Regional Qualified Players
6/19/25 - 6:48 pm
Please remember you MUST remain on a team in the FORMAT you are QUALIFIED to maintain ELIGIBILITY. Players who have won a San Diego local singles board between Jan 1st - June 15th 2025 should be listed here: Click Here -> 2025 Fall Singles Regional Qualified Players List If you do not see your name and believe you qualified, please contact the tournament director who ran your board immediately