Situation: My opponent breaks dry, I then while shooting a solid miss but it knocks in a stripe, is the table still open?
No, from the Official Team Manual - NOTE: During an open table, a player can shoot a combination involving stripes and solids; the legally pocketed ball will determine their category of balls for the remainder of the game. The 8-ball may not be used as the first ball in a combination shot, as it is never neutral.
However, if balls from each category are pocketed (for example, two solids and one stripe), it is still an open table.
Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 46-47 “After the Break”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
This section also covers:
- After the break 9-ball
- What happens as it relates to the Head String
- Push-outs in 9-ball
You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:
- Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
- Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
- Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.