Rule of the Week - Marking the Pocket

May 23, 2025 6:19 PM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Marking the Pocket

May 23, 2025 6:19 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: I marked my pocket and didn't realize the marker was slightly over the bumper. When I shot the 8ball it hit my marker and went in, what happens?

NOTE: Contacting a pocket marker with the 8-ball is not a foul and the shot stands.

However if the cue ball hits the marker if the 8ball is pocketed it is loss of game. If the 8-ball isn't pocketed then it is Ball in Hand.

See page 54 section 15h under Fouls: Altering the course of a moving cue ball, including a double-hit.

If your opponent tells you your pocket marker is over the rail you must adjust it before shooting to avoid a sportsmanship violation.

Addition details about marking your pocket.
Marking the pocket
a. A coaster or some other reasonable marker must be placed next to the shooter’s intended pocket.
b. Marking the pocket with chalk is not recommended.
c. Both players may use the same marker.
d. Only one marker should remain on the table at a time.
e. If the marker is already at the intended pocket from a previous attempt or game, it is not necessary to touch it, pick it up or reposition it.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 55-56 section 16 “Marking the pocket”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


Continuing Our Communication on Nationwide Changes
9/24/25 - 4:00 pm
PLAYOFF and TRI-ANNUAL PICTURE NOW and THEN (click above) Nationwide Changes for All APA League Areas to Drive Consistency What Has Changed Terminology BLAST → Tri-Annuals, Cities → World Qualifiers Approximately 25% more teams now qualify to earn prize money and participate in Tri-Annuals. Tri-Annual winners will receive awards for their victory. Just winning one round of playoffs now earns a t
Having A Shot Watched - Rule of the Week
10/13/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: After shooting a close shot the other team stops me and says they had a 3rd party watch it and called it bad. I was not aware somebody was watching and I think it was good, is it ball in hand for my opponent? No, the other team should have stopped you first and then you both need to agree on the 3rd party watching the shot. Failure to do so will result in the call going to the shooter
Moving Ball In Hand - Rule of the Week
10/6/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent has ball in hand, while placing the cue ball for their shot they move the cue ball with the tip of their cue, isn't this a foul? No, even after having addressed the cue ball a player may, if not satisfied with the placement, make further adjustments with their hand, cue stick or any other reasonable piece of equipment. There is no documented rule against using the tip of the