Situation: A piece of chalk is knocked onto the playing surface of the table. The object ball is pocketed after contact with the chalk, the cue ball does NOT contact chalk. What happens now?
Nothing, An object ball that is in motion and makes accidental contact with a bridge, cue stick, pocket marker, etc. is not replaced. Etc would be the piece of chalk in this scenario.
Since the cue ball did not hit the piece of chalk there is no foul. If the cue ball does hit the piece of chalk then it would be a ball in hand foul.
In the event you are playing 8-ball and the 8-ball hits the piece of chalk before going into the marked pocket it is still good as long as the cue ball doesn't hit the piece of chalk as well.
Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 49 “Accidentally Moved Balls”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
This section also covers:
- Accidentally moved balls prior and after a shot.
- Who replaces the accidentally moved ball.
You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:
- Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
- Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
- Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.