Rule of the Week - Breaking

December 17, 2024 12:17 AM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Breaking

December 17, 2024 12:17 AM

by San Diego APA


Situation: The breaking player miscues and stops the cue ball with their cue before it hits this rack, is this a foul?

The rack must be struck before a foul can occur.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 45-46 section 3 “Breaking”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

This section also covers:

  • Players physically unable to break and what happens.
  • Where the cue ball needs to be to break.
  • Legal and non-legal breaks.
  • When the break switches to your opponent.
  • Where the rack must be struck.
  • Soft breaking.

In addition, page 28 section 18 "Coaching" Note 3 states:

A team can only be charged with a time out after the rack has been struck in any individual game.

Note: a coach can help a player position the cue ball and even how to break and this isn’t a timeout.

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


2025 Summer Tri-Annual (formally BLAST) Information
8/22/25 - 4:00 am
TRI-ANNUAL PLAYERS MEETING VIDEO (*Replacing the pre-Tr-Annual players meeting) TRI-ANNUAL DIGITAL GUIDE (As seen in the video above) TRI-ANNUAL SDAPA WEBPAGE (Eligibility, Rules, Brackets, Schedule and Roster Info) Other Key Links Summer Session Winners OTM Bylaws Event Tab *The player's meeting video includes example scenarios for illustrative purposes only. For official brackets, schedules, a
Tri-Annual (BLAST) vs World Qualifer (Cites) Rosters
8/19/25 - 5:00 pm
Tri-Annual (formally BLAST) Rosters Will align with the roster at the conclusion of the session for the specific Tri-Annual event being played. For example: Summer Tri-Annual is being played based on the Summer session. Therefore players who meet the necessary eligibility requirements and were on your team at the end of the Summer session will be the roster that will show up for the Summer Tri-Ann
Shooting the Wrong Balls - Rule of the Week
8/18/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: My opponent broke, made a ball and continued to shoot. When it was my turn at the table I thoughts I was solids, I started shooting solids and after making 2 balls I realized I was stripes. Can I switch back to stripes and keep shooting? Yes, if a foul is not called before the shooter takes a subsequent shot, and makes legal contact with a ball of their actual category (in 8-Ball) or th