Situation: The cue ball is frozen to my object ball but it is my opponent's turn to shoot. They are shooting away from the ball but at an angle. The angle is clearly going to hit my object ball during the shot. Since they are already touching is this a good or bad hit?
This is likely a bad hit and would result in ball in hand. As with any shot making contact with your opponents ball (or in 9ball a ball that is not the next in order to shoot) is a bad hit. At the point the 2 balls are frozen and you are shooting if you shoot completely away so as to not hit the ball again this would be a good hit. By angling your shot such that upon movement of the cue ball it hits the ball it is frozen to then this would be under the above condition considered a bad hit. When in doubt best to have a close shot watched.
As it relates to frozen balls there are numerous situations that the OTM breaks down to address what is legal contact and what is not legal contact.
Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 51-53 “Frozen Balls”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
This section also covers:
- How to declare when balls are frozen
- When a frozen ball is also on a rail (cue or object ball)
- Various scenarios of what is a good hit when balls are frozen
You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:
- Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
- Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
- Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.