Rule of the Week - Stalemates

March 6, 2024 4:24 PM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Stalemates

March 6, 2024 4:24 PM

by San Diego APA


Situation: During our match we get to a point were neither myself nor my opponent is attempting to make a legal hit. Is this a stalemate? 

No, not until both players no longer make use of ball in hand does the rack become a stalemate. Meaning if at least one player is hitting the cue ball into another ball on the table even if it is not a legal hit, then the game continues. Your opponent maybe gradually moving balls into position to eventually take a legal shot therefore the game is still in progress.

In the unlikely event that a game should become stalemated, meaning that neither player can, or wants to, make use of ball-in-hand, the balls are reracked and the player that had the break at the start of the stalemated game breaks again.

There is no minimum number of turns that must occur before a game is stalemated.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 51 “Stalemates”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

This section also covers:
  • Scoring a 8 or 9ball game once a stalemate is determined.

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


2025 Turkey Shoot Scotch Triples and Toy Drive!
10/30/25 - 4:01 am
Gobble, Gobble, Gobble!!! 28th Annual Turkey Shoot plus TOYS FOR TOTS DRIVE to get in the Holiday Spirit! (Every unwrapped toy or $10 donated gets entry to win a cue!) Saturday, November 29, 2025 The Library Tavern (7459 Mission Gorge Rd) Doors Open At 9:00 am ♦ Play Starts At 9:30 am Join us for our third SCOTCH TRIPLES tournament!!! Open to San Diego APA members active on a 2025 Fall SDAPA ro
Fouls/Ball-In-Hand - Rule of the Week
11/3/25 - 6:00 pm
Situation: Due to a foul I have Ball-In-Hand (BIH), while placing the cue ball I touch another ball on the table by accident. Is this now BIH for my opponent? Yes, Touching another ball on the table, while placing or adjusting the position of the cue ball, during a ball-in-hand is a BIH foul. The hand holding the cue ball or placing the cue ball becomes an extension of the cue ball. If a hand th
World Qualifier (Cities): Qualification Can Be Lost
10/29/25 - 6:00 pm
Official Team Manual (OTM) “Tournament Information and Rules”: Players Must Maintain Current Membership If your membership is not current, you are not eligible to participate in the World Championships. If any of your teammates are not available at renewal time, consider renewing for them so they do not get dropped from the roster and become ineligible. Notify your Local League Management immedia