Rule of the Week - Marking the Pocket

December 13, 2023 1:59 AM

by San Diego APA

Rule of the Week - Marking the Pocket

December 13, 2023 1:59 AM

by San Diego APA


Situation: I marked my pocket and didn't realize the marker was slightly over the bumper. When I shot the 8ball it hit my marker and went in, what happens?

NOTE: Contacting a pocket marker with the 8-ball is not a foul and the shot stands.

However if the cue ball hits the marker if the 8ball is pocketed it is loss of game. If the 8-ball isn't pocketed then it is Ball in Hand.

See page 54 section 15h under Fouls: Altering the course of a moving cue ball, including a double-hit.

If your opponent tells you your pocket marker is over the rail you must adjust it before shooting to avoid a sportsmanship violation.

Addition details about marking your pocket.
Marking the pocket
a. A coaster or some other reasonable marker must be placed next to the shooter’s intended pocket.
b. Marking the pocket with chalk is not recommended.
c. Both players may use the same marker.
d. Only one marker should remain on the table at a time.
e. If the marker is already at the intended pocket from a previous attempt or game, it is not necessary to touch it, pick it up or reposition it.

Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 55-56 section 16 “Marking the pocket”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf

You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:

  • Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
  • Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
  • Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.


Pocketed Balls (outside forces) - Rule of the Week
6/30/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: While shooting my opponent doesn't make a ball but one of their balls sits on the edge of the pocket. They walk away from the table and it falls into the pocket. Is it still their turn? No, Once a ball has stopped all motion, it cannot move again without outside forces affecting it. Therefore, if a ball which has been hanging in a pocket for more than a few seconds suddenly drops, it
Rescheduling a Match - Rule of the Week
6/23/25 - 5:00 pm
Situation: I have requested a makeup match ahead of the necessary 24-hour notice to my opponent. They are telling me I have to let them know who will be playing the makeup match(es). Is this true? Yes, when requesting 1-2 makeup matches the team needing the makeup must indicate who will be playing those matches. The same requirement is true for Pre-Play matches. Rule: Bylaws page 4-5 “Rescheduli
Singles Regional Qualified Players
6/19/25 - 6:48 pm
Please remember you MUST remain on a team in the FORMAT you are QUALIFIED to maintain ELIGIBILITY. Players who have won a San Diego local singles board between Jan 1st - June 15th 2025 should be listed here: Click Here -> 2025 Fall Singles Regional Qualified Players List If you do not see your name and believe you qualified, please contact the tournament director who ran your board immediately