Situation: My opponent's object ball is frozen to the cue ball. They shoot away from the object ball and don't hit any of their other object balls but are saying it is a good shot. They indicate while shooting away their object ball it moved. Is this considered a good shot or ball in hand?
Ball in hand, If the cue ball is shot away from your own frozen object ball (8-Ball) / frozen lowest ball in the rotation (9-Ball), and the frozen ball moves slightly due to breaking contact with the cue ball, it does not constitute legal contact.
As it relates to frozen balls there are numerous situations that the OTM breaks down to address what is legal contact and what is not legal contact.
Rule: Official Team Manual (OTM) page 51-53 “Frozen Balls”: https://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf
This section also covers:
- How to declare when balls are frozen
- When a frozen ball is also on a rail (cue or object ball)
- Various scenarios of what is a good hit when balls are frozen
You can submit a "Rule of the Week" to the league office:
- Email to sandiego@apaleagues.com.
- Email Subject Line must read “SDAPA Rule of the Week”
- Clearly state the rule/situation and if you know where the answer is found please provide those details.